My Insane and Bold Prediction of the Week

Every week, I’ll make a crazy but somewhat legitimate prediction for an upset in the college football world.

I’m going to do my best to forget about last week’s insane and bold prediction and try to redeem myself. After a near hit with LSU-Tennessee, I wasn’t even close last week. I can’t help but wonder what I was thinking. In my defense, I think I made a decent argument for Kansas State and I still stand by Nebraska being an untested team that is ripe for an upset at some point. I really should have paid more attention to just how bad Kansas State’s rush defense was. Yikes.

Forgive and forget. Let’s move on. This week’s upset special:

South Carolina falls to Kentucky in Lexington.

The Line: South Carolina -5.5
Over/Under: 55

This is the second time Kentucky has been featured here and I think it will come with a better result than a 48-13 loss this time.

Any time you go on the road in the SEC, it’s no easy task regardless of the opponent. OK … I’ll give you Vanderbilt. South Carolina is coming off one of their best games of the year. They upset a #1 team for the first time in the program’s history. Stephen Garcia played one of the best games of his career.

Now, how does South Carolina respond? I think they’re going to slip up. I trust Spurrier and his staff will do everything to prepare South Carolina for Kentucky and I’m sure he will warn them about the dangers of getting complacent. Yada, yada, yada.

But, Spurrier can’t go on the field and play for these guys. I ate my words about South Carolina and Garcia last week and I’m prepared to do it again. I look for Garcia to make some mistakes that could end up costing the Gamecocks a win. Kentucky is a talented team on offense and they will be in their comfort zone at home.

Kentucky wins 34-32.

Feel free to leave your thoughts in the comment box below. You can e-mail me suggestions or questions at jtmcadams@aol.com. Follow me on Twitter @JoeSportswriter.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by brouhahasports on October 16, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    well south carolina got off to a quick start, they have not buried kentucky. Texas pulled it off though, thanks to numerous nebraska drops. And also, great tweets today.

    Reply

    • Yeah, unfortunately I only switched over to the Texas-Nebraska game during breaks because I was watching Arkansas-Auburn.

      South Carolina is making a habit of quick starts. Starting to get out of hand now! I think UK fans would probably encourage me not to pick them in upsets anymore. I’ll get an “insane” upset call right at some point this year!

      Thanks for the read and the follow on Twitter as well.

      Reply

  2. Kentucky with another second half comeback. South Carolina with another second half meltdown. Kentucky outscores South Carolina 21-0 in the second half to pull off the upset. What a wild finish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

