My Top Ten Sports Moments

I did this about a month ago via Twitter, so I thought I’d add it to this blog for public scrutiny. These are my personal favorites. I don’t think these are the greatest sports moments of all time. That differs from person to person, but I also feel that it is cliché to do that at this point. I’ll leave that stuff to those guys at ESPN and elsewhere.

10. Antoine Pettway sinks game winning lay up to upset Florida.

I was 16 at the time and with my buddy, Jacob, at McDonald’s grabbing a bite to eat after our baseball game. We were sitting in the parking lot listening to it from my truck. When Pettway sank the game winning shot, we both jumped up and down in the parking lot and gave each other high fives and chest bumps celebrating the big win. The bad part… I could have been at the game, but I sat on the bench at my baseball game. At least I got to “experience” the moment through the radio.


9. Alabama snaps the streak and sends Tuberville out in style, Alabama 36, Auburn 0 (2008)

One of the best Rammer Jammer moments as well. Normal teams usually don’t get “Rammer Jammered” multiple times. This win also marked the first time Alabama defeated Auburn in Tuscaloosa.

8. Jason Heyward belts 1st major league HR in his first career at bat. (2010)

It took Heyward about 15 seconds to round the bases. Awesome moment made even better by being there. This is not my video, but a pretty good user video for sure. It’s a user video because of MLB’s insane copyright laws. It’s probably best viewed that way to be honest.

7. Alabama welcomes Urban Meyer to Tuscaloosa in 2005 with a 31-3 beating.

Sorry for the Rammer Jammer spam, but I couldn’t find another video for this one.


6. Alabama wins 1992 National Championship over heavily favored Miami.

George Teague takes the ball from a player that was widely considered to be the fastest in college football at the time—Lamar Thomas. It’s one of the few things I remember from the game. I was seven at the time and I could barely see over the tubas of the Crimson Tide band. One thing to note: Teague pretended to be injured after the play was over. Always remembered that as well.

5. “Finally!” — Braves win ’95 World Series

The team of the 90s defeated the Cleveland Indians in Game 6 of the 1995 World Series behind a great performance from Tom Glavine and a solo homer from David Justice.

4. Alabama gets revenge on the Florida Gators in the 2009 SEC Championship.

Beautifully executed game from the Tide. The 17 play, 8:47 drive stole the will from the Gators and sent Tim Tebow packing.



3. Alabama wins 2009 National Championship over Texas

Sweet, sweet victory.


Will Muschamp was clearly mortified at how quickly Trent Richardson exploded through his defense.

2. Worst to First in 1991: Sid Bream scores the winning run to send the Braves to the World Series. “If he hits one to right-center, we can dance in the streets…”

Due to the awesome MLB copyright laws, they claimed the original video I had posted here. That’s fine—the audio clip is more than capable of reproducing the incredible moment at Fulton-County Stadium.

I still get chills hearing this clip. There are just so many memorable quotes (and images) that are etched into my mind. The only reason it isn’t my top play is because I was so young and I could barely appreciate what was actually happening.


1. 2009, “Maximum Block” Terrence Cody blocks field goal against Tennessee to preserve the win.

The videos explain it all. I don’t remember what I did. I lost control of everything and had an out-of-body experience for thirty seconds (approximately) and probably spoke in tongues.

My favorite part is Lane Kiffin pumping his fists up and down.

Thanks for sticking it out. Hope you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

